Taco Baby

The problem is that pregnancy cravings don’t appear like normal cravings.  They are seeded deeper in the mind, and don’t feel like an opinion.  For instance, when you aren’t pregnant someone asks, “what are you craving tonight?”  You run through a list of restaurants or pantry items in your mind, and you arrive at an opinion, I had those pot-stickers last Tuesday so Asian food is out, but I’m curious about that new Moroccan restaurant… So you make a choice.  Or, in the worst cases perhaps you watch a Digorno’s pizza commercial and decide you need gluten and cheese to make you stop visualizing it.  It does happen that from time to time we get a taste for something — salty, sweet, spicy, etc — and satisfy those “cravings in a moment.  Often times the craving itself comes out of seeing the desired item (like, you can resist sweet cravings if there is no chocolate in the house…).

But when you are pregnant, this rational approach to decision-making is no longer a choice.  Suddenly as you fold laundry you fantasize about tacos.  Or cupcakes.  You need something spicy and wrapped in a tortilla with the same urgency that you need to pee, or nap, or drink water.

It goes farther for me, in that as I flip through recipes and food magazines to plan our meals, nothing looks good.  What’s wrong with this magazine? I wonder.  It used to be great! Lasagna, fish, roasted vegetables all seem disgusting!  Then, slow-cooker carnitas… and all I need are tacos.

I’m seventeen weeks pregnant now, and I refer to this as “Taco Baby”. It’s become a joke on Facebook and among my family, by only I really understand how serious it is.  So, I’d like to share with you some of the fantastic meals we’ve enjoyed, because praise GOD my dear husband is down with Mexican food, too.

I also praise God that there is a Mexican restaurant 500 yards from my front door if I’m not prepared with my key ingredients: cilantro, chipotles, tortillas, and cumin… I can Mexi-fy anything with that!

  • I enjoy steak tacos the most
  • chicken tacos
  • veggie tacos with quinoa
  • homemade guacamole
  • black beans (always)
  • and Mama’s recipe for picadillo
One thought on “Taco Baby

Share your thoughts

